Path

Success

Path Created with Sketch.

Warning

Path

Error

Cokesbury

I Told Me So

The Role of Self-Deception in Christian Living
  • By Greg A. Ten Elshof
$16.00
Think you've ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you. / Think you've never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you. / Socrates famously asserted that the unexamined life is not worth living. But Gregg Ten Elshof shows us that we make all sorts of little deals with ourselves every day in order to stave off examination and remain happily self-deceived. Most provocatively, he suggests this is not all bad While naming its temptations, Ten Elshof also offers a strange celebration' of self-deception as a gracious gift. In the tradition of Dallas Willard, I Told Me So is a wonderful example of philosophy serving spiritual discipline. A marvelous, accessible and, above all, wise book. James K. A. Smith / Calvin College / author of The Devil Reads Derrida / In this wise, well-crafted work Ten Elshof helps us to identify, evaluate, and respond to our own self-deceptive strategies, as he probes with occasional self-deprecation and unavoidable humor the bottomless mysteries of the human heart. His reflections on interpersonal self-deception and groupthink' are especially helpful. To tell me the truth, I'm glad I read this book. You will be too I promise. David Naugle / Dallas Baptist University / author of Reordered Love, Reordered Lives / Ten Elshof's discussions are erudite, biblical, searching, and laced with soul-restoring wisdom. All of this together means that this book is solidly pastoral. What it brings to us is appropriate to individuals, but it especially belongs in the context of small groups and local congregations. Dallas Willard (from the foreword)"

Read More

free shipping iconEligible For Free Shipping
Want it in two business days? Order by 4/10/2020 2:00:00 PM and choose Overnight shipping at checkout.
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions and Answers
  • Additional Details
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions and Answers
  • Additional Details
    Product Specs
    • SKU: 9780802864116
    • Manufacturer: William B Eerdmans Pub Co
    • Language of Text: English
    • ISBN 13: 9780802864116
    • Publication Date: 06/01/2009
    • Format: Paperback
    • Author: Greg A. Ten Elshof
    • Page Count: 144
    • Width: 5.50 inches
    • Height: 0.50 inches
    • Length: 8.25 inches
    • Weight: 0.45 pounds
    Shipping & Returns
    This item is available for return. Cokesbury uses a variety of methods for ground shipping. At your request, we can also expedite order shipments for an additional charge. Cokesbury partners with UPS for these expedited deliveries.