Path

Success

Path Created with Sketch.

Warning

Path

Error

Cokesbury
Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense
  • By Francis Spufford
$11.79
($15.99)

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

Read More

Want it in two business days? Order by 7/22/2019 2:00:00 PM and choose Overnight shipping at checkout. Ships from a Cokesbury Connect Partner.
Availability: In stock
free shipping iconEligible For Free Shipping
  • Additional Details
    • SKU: 9780062300461
    • Manufacturer: Harper One
    • Language of Text: English
    • ISBN 13: 9780062300461
    • Publication Date: 10/01/2014
    • Format: Paperback
    • Author: Francis Spufford
    • Page Count: 240
    • Width: 5.40 inches
    • Height: 0.70 inches
    • Length: 8.00 inches
    • Weight: 0.65 pounds
  • Shipping and Returns
    This item is available for return.

    Cokesbury uses a variety of methods for ground shipping. At your request, we can also expedite order shipments for an additional charge. Cokesbury partners with UPS for these expedited deliveries.