Path

Success

Path Created with Sketch.

Warning

Path

Error

Cokesbury

Within These Lines

  • By Stephanie Morrill
  • By Stephanie Morrill
$10.99
$8.25
Product Description

"Within These Lines is a moving story of love, hope, and family set against the dark history of Japanese internment in America. This book had me captivated!" --Maureen McQuerry, YALSA award-winning author of The Peculiars

Evalina Cassano's life in an Italian-American family in 1941 is quiet and ordinary ... until she falls in love with Taichi Hamasaki, the son of Japanese immigrants. Despite the scandal it would cause and the fact that interracial marriage is illegal in California, Evalina and Taichi vow they will find a way to be together. But anti-Japanese feelings erupt across the country after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Taichi and his family are forced to give up their farm and are incarcerated in a Japanese internment camp.

Degrading treatment at Manzanar Relocation Center is so difficult, Taichi doubts he will ever leave the camp alive. Treasured letters from Evalina are his sole connection to the outside world. Embracing the boldest action she can to help Taichi, Evalina begins to radically speak out at school and at home, shining a light on this dark and shameful racial injustice.

With their future together on the line, Evalina and Taichi can only hold true to their values and believe in their love against all odds to have any hope of making it back to one another.

Within These Lines is:

  • A historical YA novel set against the backdrop of WWII and the shameful era of American injustice surrounding Japanese internment camps
  • Told from the dual points of view of an Italian-American woman and Japanese-American man brought together by love then separated by war, injustice, and hatred
  • As haunting and unflinching as it is hope-filled and love-driven
  • Perfect for fans of Monica Hesse, Ruta Sepetys, and Elizabeth Wein

Read More

"Within These Lines is a moving story of love, hope, and family set against the dark history of Japanese internment in America. This book had me captivated!" --Maureen McQuerry, YALSA award-winning author of The Peculiars

Evalina Cassano's life in an Italian-American family in 1941 is quiet and ordinary ... until she falls in love with Taichi Hamasaki, the son of Japanese immigrants. Despite the scandal it would cause and the fact that interracial marriage is illegal in California, Evalina and Taichi vow they will find a way to be together. But anti-Japanese feelings erupt across the country after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Taichi and his family are forced to give up their farm and are incarcerated in a Japanese internment camp.

Degrading treatment at Manzanar Relocation Center is so difficult, Taichi doubts he will ever leave the camp alive. Treasured letters from Evalina are his sole connection to the outside world. Embracing the boldest action she can to help Taichi, Evalina begins to radically speak out at school and at home, shining a light on this dark and shameful racial injustice.

With their future together on the line, Evalina and Taichi can only hold true to their values and believe in their love against all odds to have any hope of making it back to one another.

Within These Lines is:

  • A historical YA novel set against the backdrop of WWII and the shameful era of American injustice surrounding Japanese internment camps
  • Told from the dual points of view of an Italian-American woman and Japanese-American man brought together by love then separated by war, injustice, and hatred
  • As haunting and unflinching as it is hope-filled and love-driven
  • Perfect for fans of Monica Hesse, Ruta Sepetys, and Elizabeth Wein

Read More

  • Within These Lines [Paperback] ($10.99)
  • Within These Lines [Electronic Media] ($8.25)
free shipping iconEligible For Free Shipping
Want it in two business days? Order by 8/7/2020 2:00:00 PM and choose Overnight shipping at checkout. Ships from a Cokesbury Connect Partner.
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions and Answers
  • Additional Details
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions and Answers
  • Additional Details
    Product Specs
    • SKU: 9780310765219
    • Manufacturer: Blink
    • Author: Stephanie Morrill
    • ISBN 13: 9780310765219
    • Publication Date: 12/01/2019
    • Format: Paperback
    • SKU: 9780310765264
    • Manufacturer: Blink
    • Author: Stephanie Morrill
    • ISBN 13: 9780310765264
    • Publication Date: 12/01/2019
    • Format: Electronic Media
    Shipping & Returns
    This item is available for return. Cokesbury uses a variety of methods for ground shipping. At your request, we can also expedite order shipments for an additional charge. Cokesbury partners with UPS for these expedited deliveries.
    This item is not available for return. Cokesbury uses a variety of methods for ground shipping. At your request, we can also expedite order shipments for an additional charge. Cokesbury partners with UPS for these expedited deliveries.