Path

Success

Path Created with Sketch.

Warning

Path

Error

Cokesbury

Speaking of Faith

Why Religion Matters And How to Talk about It
  • By Krista Tippett
Why Religion Matters And How to Talk about It
  • By Krista Tippett
$14.99
($17.00)
$5.99
Product Description
The host of public radios  Speaking of Faith  explores the role of faith in the world and in human life today

Krista Tippett is the creator and host of public radios phenomenally popular program  Speaking of Faith,  a weekly conversation about religion, meaning, ethics, and ideas. As a journalist and then as a diplomat in Berlin, Tippett was enthralled by the promise of political solutions to divisive issues. When politics did not provide worthy answers, Tippett attended Yale Divinity School to pursue larger questions about what makes a meaningful life. In her quest for faiths illumination of life's complexities, passions, and frailties, she developed a compelling style of discourse a life of conversation that she now shares with millions of people every week. Tippet's unique, in-depth conversations with theologians, scientists, ethicists, and seekers who share their experiences, combined with her engaging style, are revolutionizing the way many think and speak of faith in their families and communities and in the larger world.

Speaking of Faith  is the story of this conversational journey and what it yields. Tippett draws on her life experiences and her studies, as well as on conversations with Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, Thich Nhat Hanh, and other renowned figures, to explore such complex subjects as justice, science, fundamentalism, evil, love, and mystery, all within the context of spirituality. In the tradition of Kathleen Norris and Anne Lamott, Krista Tippett here shares a life of conversation that anyone, secular or religious, will find thought provoking about what faith does and can mean to us today. BACK COVER: Praise for Krista Tippett and her public radio program Speaking of Faith: 
The brilliance of Krista Tippetts idea is to trust people to use the first person singular, to commit themselves with passion and clarity as they enlarge our urgent national conversation.
Martin Marty, Emeritus Professor of American Religious History, University of Chicago
Speaking of Faith isn't just a good idea and a welcome concept for a much needed forum on religion, belief and spirituality in contemporary lifeit already is that forum.
Patricia Hampl, Poet, memoirist, and MacArthur Genius Grant recipient

Read More

The host of public radios  Speaking of Faith  explores the role of faith in the world and in human life today

Krista Tippett is the creator and host of public radios phenomenally popular program  Speaking of Faith,  a weekly conversation about religion, meaning, ethics, and ideas. As a journalist and then as a diplomat in Berlin, Tippett was enthralled by the promise of political solutions to divisive issues. When politics did not provide worthy answers, Tippett attended Yale Divinity School to pursue larger questions about what makes a meaningful life. In her quest for faiths illumination of life's complexities, passions, and frailties, she developed a compelling style of discourse a life of conversation that she now shares with millions of people every week. Tippet's unique, in-depth conversations with theologians, scientists, ethicists, and seekers who share their experiences, combined with her engaging style, are revolutionizing the way many think and speak of faith in their families and communities and in the larger world.

Speaking of Faith  is the story of this conversational journey and what it yields. Tippett draws on her life experiences and her studies, as well as on conversations with Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, Thich Nhat Hanh, and other renowned figures, to explore such complex subjects as justice, science, fundamentalism, evil, love, and mystery, all within the context of spirituality. In the tradition of Kathleen Norris and Anne Lamott, Krista Tippett here shares a life of conversation that anyone, secular or religious, will find thought provoking about what faith does and can mean to us today. BACK COVER: Praise for Krista Tippett and her public radio program Speaking of Faith: 
The brilliance of Krista Tippetts idea is to trust people to use the first person singular, to commit themselves with passion and clarity as they enlarge our urgent national conversation.
Martin Marty, Emeritus Professor of American Religious History, University of Chicago
Speaking of Faith isn't just a good idea and a welcome concept for a much needed forum on religion, belief and spirituality in contemporary lifeit already is that forum.
Patricia Hampl, Poet, memoirist, and MacArthur Genius Grant recipient

Read More

  • Speaking of Faith [Paperback] ($14.99)
  • Speaking of Faith [Electronic Media] ($5.99)
free shipping iconEligible For Free Shipping
Temporarily out of stock, more on the way!
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions and Answers
  • Additional Details
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions and Answers
  • Additional Details
    Product Specs
    • SKU: 9780143113188
    • Manufacturer: Penguin Group
    • Language of Text: English
    • ISBN 13: 9780143113188
    • Publication Date: 02/01/2008
    • Format: Paperback
    • Author: Krista Tippett
    • Page Count: 240
    • Width: 5.72 inches
    • Height: 0.49 inches
    • Length: 7.24 inches
    • Weight: 0.40 pounds
    • SKU: 9781101202142
    • Manufacturer: Penguin Group
    • Author: Krista Tippett
    • ISBN 13: 9781101202142
    • Publication Date: 02/01/2008
    • Format: Electronic Media
    Shipping & Returns
    This item is available for return. Cokesbury uses a variety of methods for ground shipping. At your request, we can also expedite order shipments for an additional charge. Cokesbury partners with UPS for these expedited deliveries.
    This item is not available for return. Cokesbury uses a variety of methods for ground shipping. At your request, we can also expedite order shipments for an additional charge. Cokesbury partners with UPS for these expedited deliveries.